Stirring story of a corporate banker turned Photographer, Priyanka Jain, an erstwhile student of APEX

Priyanka Jain

Priyanka Jain

“Priyanka was born and raised in Calcutta. In 2011 she left her corporate livelihood to take up interior designing and Photography. She’s recently gotten into the Photographic industry, and has been shooting professionally since this year began. Priyanka is interested in commercial and fashion photography and has a unique manner of shooting, she says, “I aspire to un-photoshop fashion photography, and to get that I try and experiment with different body types. I want my viewer to look at my models as real people and not wax dolls. It is just a matter of acceptability, and a novel point of view.”


  1. How did you get your start into Photography, and what inspired you to pick-up the camera, and shoot?

I believe I was born with a creative streak and a desire to communicate my thoughts. As a child, I painted and danced, both of which I think are an excellent medium of self-expression. Photography for me is a rational extension of what I have been doing, and it’s an excellent medium to freeze a moment, a sight or a memory. I first started shooting with my father’s SLR in 1997.

  1. How did the Academy for Photographic excellence help you in honing your creative faculties?

After buying my DSLR, a Canon 550D, I wanted to learn how to use it. Honestly, I joined the weekend course at APEX just for that. But the mode of teaching and the interactions with the mentors at APEX changed my purpose. Photography became a medium of self expression and that helped me want to look beyond the technical aspects of photography.

I would like to give an example of Mr. Sundeep Bali, and his Delhi Drama series. It is so brilliantly creative and that made me start thinking for creating something beautiful of my own.

  1. Any projects that you’re working on and, which you’d like to share with us? Also what would be your dream project?

I’ve just really begun my journey in the Photography Industry, and I am trying to make a mark for my firm THE PHOTOWORX. This is my life’s project to make this into a corporate like entity. I see our industry quite scattered and hence the bargaining powers of the photographers are often weak. I am working towards changing that.

Creatively, the project I’m working on is collaboration with dancers and I am trying to use dancers as fashion models.

My dream project will be to shoot for Sabyasachi. I really aspire to do their campaigns and my long tern project is a photobook.

  1. Yours is an inspiring story of a banker turned Photographer, anything that you would like to share with our readers? For instance, what made you switch. What all did you consider before taking the plunge.

As I mentioned earlier, I was born with a creative streak, so the corporate world eventually seemed like a wrong fit for me. Photography happened by accident, and rather a pleasant accident. I realized I feel complete when I am holding a camera. The decision to take a full plunge was difficult but my family saw how happy I felt when I was shooting and they thought I was good at it. In fact I owe whatever I have been able to do with photography to my family as they not only support me financially, but also emotionally too. They are always interested in my projects and give me their honest feedback.

  1. How did you get to hear about the Academy for Photographic Excellence, and would you recommend it to people?

I got to know about Apex from a google search. I went there to enquire and was very impressed.

I have already recommended APEX to people. The best thing about the Academy is that once you are a part of the APEX family they always help and take care of you, and provide support in whatever way one might need. The mentors are always there to guide you. Mr. Amitabha Bhattcharya has always been helpful even after I shifted to Mumbai, and the encouraging words and feedback from Mr. Aditya Arya have made me more determined to better myself, and to fulfill my dreams.

APEX makes a lifelong relationship with its students and I it find extremely fascinating.

You can read more about her at https://m.facebook.com/profile.php?id=425539537610267

 

Leave a comment